Day 3: Interpol and interaction

I weightlifted this morning, which went pretty terribly actually. I lowered the weight on my deadlift to try working on my form and still ended up with a sore back, and I could only do a third of my normal reps for my ab exercises. Eh well, I still showed up and did it.

I subbed for two hours – though it’s quite a drive, it’s still a little money and some social interaction. A coworker mentioned that Interpol was playing in New Haven tonight, something I’d completely forgotten about. So at home I defrosted some leftover meat and threw together a lamb-udon-spinach-red pepper soup, tried to walk the dog (she wasn’t having it), and changed my outfit about eight times before settling on my standard “I’m a married woman leaving my house for something slightly more exciting than work or groceries, like maybe I’m going to Chili’s” outfit: jeans, flowy tank, cardigan. I have no idea how people dress for shows. As it turns out, everyone else wears their “I’m going to Chili’s” outfits nowadays. Even Interpol.

"What we really need to do is create a powerful sense of dread." - Super Hans.

“What we really need to do is create a powerful sense of dread.” – Super Hans.

Wearing all black suits, just as I’d hoped. The guitarist was a lot of fun to watch, and the band interacted with the audience more than I’d expected from a group with their persona. They started with “Say Hello to the Angels” and did “Stella was a diver and she was always down” in the encore, both of which made me super happy. Definitely glad I stayed up past my bedtime for this.

Leave a Reply

